Just getting started

This is a discussion on Just getting started within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I am just getting started with reloading and am having problems finding load data. I am using .40 S&W 165 gr Rainier LeadSafe bullets, Federal ...

Thread: Just getting started

Just getting started

I am just getting started with reloading and am having problems finding load data. I am using .40 S&W 165 gr Rainier LeadSafe bullets, Federal Small Pistol Primers, and Allient Power Pistol Powder. I have seen some information about Federal primers being dangerous; however they are all I could find. Any load suggestions or tips about using the Federal primers would be great. Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Remove Ads

I see no problem with federal primers. With the Lee auto prime I only dump in one or two rows at a time(10-20), just because of all the talk that they may set each other off. ?? When using them in tubes and on my press I fill the tube and go about my business.

For some loads you may not find in handbooks check out:

The Handgun Section @ www.reloadersnest.com
    Reloading The .38 Special Page (just change the caliber to yours)
    Steve's Reloading Data Pages

And of course the powder company's own load data:
    Alliant Powder - Reloader's Guide

Plated bullets are basically lead bullets and most times are loaded with the same recipes.

Start low ( 10% under unless the loads are at minimums already).

BTW. One of your best tools is a decent set of calipers. OAL is very important when seating bullets to the correct depth. Too deep and the pressure can go up to levels that are unsafe.

bosco
    Last edited by boscobeans; May 31st, 2009 at 09:37 AM. Reason: added info

From the horse's mouth.