Complete entry set up

This is a discussion on Complete entry set up within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Like many, I'm just getting started with reloading. In fact, it was just yesterday that I decided to do so and have read several of ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Complete entry set up

Complete entry set up

Like many, I'm just getting started with reloading. In fact, it was just yesterday that I decided to do so and have read several of the threads here and tried to collect as much information as I can. I have zero previous experience with reloading and don't know anyone locally that could give assistance.

I only have a very limited area to work with, so I am starting with a hand loader for now. I expect to do at most 200-300 a month of strictly 9mm for economic reasons more than as a real hobby. I plan later on expanding, but not right now. Total budget for now is around $150.

Here are the pieces I am looking at.

Lee Hand Press Kit
    Lee Perfect Powder Measure
    Frankford Arsenal Quick-N-EZ Case Tumbler
    Lee Auto Prime Hand Priming Tool

For dies I dont want to hassle with lube, so I want carbide even if they are a bit more expensive up front. I'm not sure what the difference is here and if I need both or just one.
    Lee Carbide Sizer Die 9mm Luger
    Lee Carbide Factory Crimp Die 9mm Luger

Then there are a bunch of small tools that I figure I'll probably want eventually even if not immediately required
    Lee Case Length Gage and Shellholder 9mm Luger
    Lee Universal Depriming and Decapping Die
    Lee Chamfer Tool
    Lee Primer Pocket Cleaner
    Lee Case Trimmer Cutter and Lock Stud

This also looks like it would be helpful eventually just to speed things up
    Lee Zip Trim

Then of course, I need some manual
    Lee "Modern Reloading Second Edition" Reloading