Necked Cartridges(.357 Sig)?

This is a discussion on Necked Cartridges(.357 Sig)? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm new to reloading (haven't started yet, even, planning on picking up this soon) and had a few questions. First, is there anything additional required ...

Thread: Necked Cartridges(.357 Sig)?

I'm new to reloading (haven't started yet, even, planning on picking up this soon) and had a few questions.
    First, is there anything additional required for reloading necked cartridges (.357 Sig) as opposed to straight-walled cartridges? Additional tools, additional steps in the reloading process?
    Second, is there anything additional required when using steel dies as opposed to carbide?
    Third, does anybody with Sig reloading experience recommend any specific powders? I've seen some recommendations for Accurate #9, but don't know enough to make a decision yet.

Steel vs. carbide - use case lube with steel. I like Hornady One Shot.

VIP Member
    Bottlenecked cartridges require only two dies verses the three dies for straight walled cartridges. You only need to resize/deprime in the first step, then seat primer, drop powder then seat bullet with the second die. As far as loads here are some from the Hodgden website Cartridge Loads - Hodgdon Reloading Data Center - data.hodgdon.com just select Pistol, then 357SIG and hit Get Data button.

This link will take you to all of their reloading data Hodgdon - The Gun Powder People
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."

I found there is a LOT of opinions for reloading the .357 Sig. A friend of mine purchased a .357 Sig barrel for his .40 S&W Sig and ask me to help him reload some .357 Sig rounds.

In my internet search I found that you must absolutely use the case mouth or the case shoulder for head spacing??????. Several posters suggested use H110 as a powder.