**ALERT ROUND 9 ** FL (HR-315), More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration

**ALERT ROUND 9 ** FL (HR-315), More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration

This is a discussion on **ALERT ROUND 9 ** FL (HR-315), More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Here is the House side of the fight for our rights... ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ +++++++++ **ALERT ROUND 9 ** More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration Please ...

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: **ALERT ROUND 9 ** FL (HR-315), More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration

  1. #1
    Member Array TheSaiga308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    129

    Exclamation **ALERT ROUND 9 ** FL (HR-315), More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration

    Here is the House side of the fight for our rights...

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ +++++++++


    **ALERT ROUND 9 **

    More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration


    Please email your State Representative Today!

    DATE: March 13, 2010
    TO: USF & NRA Members and Friends
    FROM: Marion P. Hammer
    USF Executive Director
    NRA Past President

    House Bill 315 by Representative Mike Horner (R) has ALSO been scheduled to be heard on the House floor Tuesday March 16, 2010

    HB-315 is a bill to STOP Florida adoption agencies from forcing potential adoptive parents to register their firearms with the agency as a condition of adoption. Further, it will stop agencies from forcing these parents to follow gun control regulations regarding storage of firearms and ammunition created by the agency.

    This outrageous behavior has been going on too long and it is time to stop it once and for all.

    Representative Mike Horner's bill will stop this gun registration and regulation.

    You must act quickly. URGENT! The House Must Hear From You!

    PLEASE IMMEDIATELY EMAIL THESE Members of the Florida House


    In the subject line put:

    SUPPORT HB-315 -- Stop Gun Registration by Adoption Agencies

    (Block or Highlight and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

    Sandy.Adams@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Janet.Adkins@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Kevin.Ambler@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Tom.Anderson@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Gary.Aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Leonard.Bembry@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ellyn.Bogdanoff@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Esteban.Bovo@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Rachel.Burgin@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Dean.Cannon@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Jennifer.Carroll@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Faye.Culp@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Carl.Domino@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Chris.Dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Eric.Eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Greg.Evers@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Anitere.Flores@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Clay.Ford@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Erik.Fresen@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Jim.Frishe@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Bill.Galvano@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Tom.Grady@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Adam.Hasner@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Alan.Hays@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ed.Homan@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Mike.Horner@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Dorothy.Hukill@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Kurt.Kelly@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov,
    John.Legg@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Marcelo.Llorente@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Carlos.Lopez-cantera@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Debbie.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Seth.Mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Dave.Murzin@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Peter.Nehr@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Marlene.Otoole@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Mark.Pafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Pat.Patterson@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
    JC.Planas@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Lake.Ray@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ron.Reagan@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ronald.Renuart@myfloridahouse.gov,
    David.Rivera@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Julio.Robaina@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ken.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ray.Sansom@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ron.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ron.Schultz@myfloridahouse.gov,
    William.Snyder@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Darren.Soto@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Kelli.Stargel@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Nick.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Charles.VanZant@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Mike.Weinstein@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov,
    John.Wood@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Ritch.Workman@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Juan.Zapata@myfloridahouse.gov,


    BACKGROUND


    Adoption agencies in Florida are effectively profiling prospective adoptive parents who own firearms.

    Agencies have been treating applicants for adoption, who chose to exercise the constitutional right to own a firearm, differently than non-firearms owning applicants.

    As a condition of adoption, prospective parents who own firearms must agree to regulations and restriction imposed by the agency.

    At least one agency requires prospective parents who own a firearm or firearms, to store the firearms and ammunition separately in locked cabinets rendering the right of self-defense and defense of family virtually impossible.

    Further, applicants who own firearms are required to register their firearms and ammunition with the agency.

    The agency not only requires applicants to separately list the firearms and the ammunition they own on a form created by the agency, but also requires them to report to the agency exactly where the firearms and ammunition are stored.

    These agencies have set themselves above the law and have ignored the statutes.

    State law regulates the safe storage of firearms. F.S. 790.174, regulates how firearms must be stored and provides criminal penalties when firearms are accessed by minors due to a failure to store firearms safely.

    State law prohibits agencies from attempting to regulate firearms. F.S. 790.33 prohibits any regulation of firearms except by the Legislature. The Legislature exclusively occupies the whole field of regulation of firearms and ammunition.

    State law prohibits registration of firearms. F.S. 790.335 prohibits the compiling of and retention of lists of firearms owners and firearms. Forms required by some adoption agencies constitute a registry of firearms and firearms owners.

    Under 790.335(4)(a), office managers and officials who are a party to the collection and storage of firearms registration documents commit a felony of the third degree.

    Under 790.335(4)(c) these agencies or organizations, as licensed agencies acting on behalf of the government, who register firearms are subject to a fine of up to $5 million.

    While some adoption agencies have attempted to claim their firearms regulations and forms were authorized or required by DCF, DCF actually repealed those regulations in April, 2008.

    This bill makes it clear that adoption agencies may not condition adoption on a person's exercise of a constitutional right or a person's willingness to disclose private information concerning lawful firearms ownership nor may adoption agencies impose restrictions on firearms ownership.

    This bill codifies in law that adoption agencies may not violate rights, profile or discriminate against firearms owners who seek to foster or adopt children.

    Prospective parents seeking to adopt and make a home for a child are particularly vulnerable to abusive tactics of agency officials and personnel who appear to have a predisposition against firearms owners.

    Forcing prospective parents to submit to requirements that usurp their legal rights and violate their privacy is nothing short of coercion. It must be stopped.
    "Firearms stand next in importance to the Constitution itself. They are the people's liberty teeth keystone... more than 99% of them by their silence indicate that they are in safe and sane hands. The very atmosphere of firearms everywhere restrains evil interference."
    - GEORGE WASHINGTON


  2. #2
    Ex Member Array F350's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Rocky Mountain High in Colorado
    Posts
    1,706
    Kinda sounds to me like a class action suit under federal civil rights law would be in order; 42 USC 1983, 1985, 1986 and these suits are against the INDIVIDUALS not the state.

  3. #3
    Member Array TheSaiga308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    129

    Talking Report: Round 8 & 9 gun registration will be stopped by passage of bill

    Excellent job everyone! I think the results show how effective our emails were. One more victory for the good side. Just remember that the anti-gun movement NEVER goes away. We will have to keep defending freedom because that is the job and role of freedom loving, patriotic American citizens. You and me! If no-one else will stand up for life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness, then we must and will!

    Thank you to all of you who consistently join in the cause of liberty.


    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ +++

    REPORT: ROUND 8 & 9 GUN REGISTRATION WILL BE STOPPED BY PASSAGE OF BILL

    GOV. CHARLIE CRIST SIGNALS THUMBS UP !!

    DATE: March 18, 2010
    TO: USF & NRA Members and Friends
    FROM: Marion P. Hammer
    USF Executive Director
    NRA Past President

    On Tuesday, March 16th SB-530 by Sen. Thad Altman (R) and HB-315 by Rep. Mike Horner (R) were each heard on their respective floors.

    SB-530 and HB-315 are bills to STOP Florida adoption agencies from forcing potential adoptive parents to register their firearms with the agency as a condition of adoption. Further, it stops agencies from forcing these parents to follow gun control regulations regarding storage of firearms and ammunition created by the agency.

    In the Senate, Sen. Charlie Justice (D) ran an amendment to add a prohibition against discrimination against Gay couples who want to adopt. After debate by several south Florida Democrats, Sen. Justice withdrew the amendment.

    In the House, Rep. Scott Randolph (D) ran an amendment to add a prohibition against discrimination against Gay couples who want to adopt. He spoke in favor of his amendment then withdrew it.

    Both bills were then scheduled for debate and a final vote on Thursday 3/18.

    Today, Thursday 3/18, HB-315 came up on the House Floor and Passed by a vote of 112-0. It was then sent to the Senate where it was substituted for SB-530. Following debate on the Senate Floor it Passed by a vote of 38-2.

    The only two votes against the bill were from Sen. Ted Deutch (D-Delray Beach) and Sen. Frederica Wilson (D-Miami Gardens)
    The bill now goes to Governor Charlie Crist who says he strongly supports the bill and will sign it.

    The following deserve your thanks
    for their roles in passing HB-315: Bill Sponsors Senator Thad Altman and Rep. Mike Horner.

    Senate President Jeff Atwater and House Speaker Larry Cretul for their support in moving the bills early.

    (Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

    altman.thad.web@flsenate.gov,
    atwater.jeff.web@flsenate.gov,
    Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov,
    Mike.Horner@myfloridahouse.gov,

    FINALLY, YOUR EMAILS ON THESE BILLS HAVE BEEN OVERWHELMING AND CLEARLY MADE THE DIFFERENCE. WHEN THEY HEAR FROM YOU THEY KNOW YOU CARE -- AND THEY KNOW YOU VOTE !!! THANKS FOR YOUR HELP ON THIS ONE -- MORE TO FOLLOW.



    BACKGROUND ON WHY THE BILL WAS NECESSARY

    Adoption agencies in Florida are effectively profiling prospective adoptive parents who own firearms.

    Agencies have been treating applicants for adoption, who chose to exercise the constitutional right to own a firearm, differently than non-firearms owning applicants.

    As a condition of adoption, prospective parents who own firearms must agree to regulations and restriction imposed by the agency.

    At least one agency requires prospective parents who own a firearm or firearms, to store the firearms and ammunition separately in locked cabinets - rendering the right of self-defense and defense of family virtually impossible.

    Further, applicants who own firearms are required to register their firearms and ammunition with the agency.

    The agency not only requires applicants to separately list the firearms and the ammunition they own on a form created by the agency, but also requires them to report to the agency exactly where the firearms and ammunition are stored.

    These agencies have set themselves above the law and have ignored the statutes.

    State law regulates the safe storage of firearms. F.S. 790.174, regulates how firearms must be stored and provides criminal penalties when firearms are accessed by minors due to a failure to store firearms safely.

    State law prohibits agencies from attempting to regulate firearms. F.S. 790.33 prohibits any regulation of firearms except by the Legislature. The Legislature exclusively occupies the whole field of regulation of firearms and ammunition.

    State law prohibits registration of firearms. F.S. 790.335 prohibits the compiling of and retention of lists of firearms owners and firearms. Forms required by some adoption agencies constitute a registry of firearms and firearms owners.

    Under 790.335(4)(a), office managers and officials who are a party to the collection and storage of firearms registration documents commit a felony of the third degree.

    Under 790.335(4)(c) these agencies or organizations, as licensed agencies acting on behalf of the government, who register firearms are subject to a fine of up to $5 million.

    While some adoption agencies have attempted to claim their firearms regulations and forms were authorized or required by DCF, DCF actually repealed those regulations in April, 2008.

    This bill makes it clear that adoption agencies may not condition adoption on a person's exercise of a constitutional right or a person's willingness to disclose private information concerning lawful firearms ownership - nor may adoption agencies impose restrictions on firearms ownership.

    This bill codifies in law, that adoption agencies may not violate rights, profile or discriminate against firearms owners who seek to foster or adopt children.

    Prospective parents seeking to adopt and make a home for a child are particularly vulnerable to abusive tactics of agency officials and personnel who appear to have a predisposition against firearms owners.

    Forcing prospective parents to submit to requirements that usurp their legal rights and violate their privacy is nothing short of coercion. It must be stopped.
    "Firearms stand next in importance to the Constitution itself. They are the people's liberty teeth keystone... more than 99% of them by their silence indicate that they are in safe and sane hands. The very atmosphere of firearms everywhere restrains evil interference."
    - GEORGE WASHINGTON

  4. #4
    VIP Member Array Tom G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,375
    It's just another case of government and agencies such as the AMA sticking their nose in the business of the people.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. New round of bans needed after stabbing spree
    By crafter32034 in forum In the News: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 13th, 2011, 02:24 PM
  2. Stuck round in 1911 barrel, help needed.
    By buckeye .45 in forum Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 15th, 2010, 11:06 AM
  3. ** URGENT ROUND 8 ** FL- Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration Bill, Sched. March 16
    By TheSaiga308 in forum The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 19th, 2010, 09:43 AM
  4. URGENT ROUND 7 Bill to STOP Gun Registration Up Tuesday, March 9
    By TheSaiga308 in forum The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 9th, 2010, 07:53 PM
  5. URGENT ALERT: ACT NOW -- FL Bill (SB-530) to STOP Gun Registration Up Thursday
    By TheSaiga308 in forum The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 4th, 2010, 03:21 PM

Search tags for this page

can adoptive parents own guns in missouri?
,
hb 315 florida
,

house bill 315 in the 2010 florida legislature

Click on a term to search for related topics.