Chicago City Council to Vote on New Gun Law

This is a discussion on Chicago City Council to Vote on New Gun Law within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; No final text for the ordinance yet, but the city's attorney says it will likely include a limit of 1 handgun per resident per residence, ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chicago City Council to Vote on New Gun Law

Chicago City Council to Vote on New Gun Law

No final text for the ordinance yet, but the city's attorney says it will likely include a limit of 1 handgun per resident per residence, a training requirement, a registration requirement, a requirement to "safely secure" handguns in the home, a requirement to obtain liability insurance, and a ballistics testing requirement.

Being a Chicago resident, I am intend to write my alderman to express my opposition. I am looking for some good points to include in my letter. Help me draft the most effective letter I can. With everyone's input, I am sure I can send something eloquent, respectful and effective.

Article about New Chicago Gun law

2. Remove Ads

To bear arms means more than one,can't wait for the next lawsuit
    "Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,"
    --Mayor Marion Barry, Washington , DC .

Their definition of safely securing the gun in the home means being insecure in your home. Having the gun locked up means you cannot get to it quickly when you need it the most. After all the 2A is about “self-protection”. What a bunch of “Commies” you have running your city. I could not live there and I am sorry for every gun owner that has to. Also the 2A says nothing about training, insurance, or ballistics testing. They are in effect making it so expensive no one will be able to afford it so they will have blocked ownership via the back door.