Potential elimination of Utah conceal permit requirements (MERGED)

This is a discussion on Potential elimination of Utah conceal permit requirements (MERGED) within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; (I'm a Utah resident and Florida non-resident licensee.) Lawmaker proposing end to concealed weapons permit July 1st, 2010 @ 2:52pm SALT LAKE CITY -- A ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Potential elimination of Utah conceal permit requirements (MERGED)

(I'm a Utah resident and Florida non-resident licensee.)

Lawmaker proposing end to concealed weapons permit

July 1st, 2010 @ 2:52pm

SALT LAKE CITY -- A Utah lawmaker wants people in the state to be able to carry guns without a concealed weapons permit.

Rep. Stephen Sandstrom, R-Orem, considers the idea "an improvement" on an already good gun law in Utah and is crafting a bill to introduce during the 2011 legislative session.

Sandstrom, who considers himself a Second Amendment "purist," says this proposal represents the intent of the amendment.

"It does not say you have the right to keep and bear arms as long as you have a permit from the federal government or your local or state government -- it just gives you that right," Sandstrom said. "Bearing arms means carrying them."

Sandstrom points out other guaranteed rights are not held to the same standard.

"It's just like freedom of religion -- you do not have to go and get an exercise of religion card," Sandstrom said.

Three other states do not require concealed weapons permits: Alaska, Arizona and Vermont.

Like the way he thinks ; )
    H/D
    A Native Floridian = RARE

IT'S OUR RIGHTS>THEY WANT TO WRONG
    H/D

Odds of this happening in my state

1x10^100 : 1
    MA2, USN

When only cops have guns, it's called a "police state". Love your country, but never trust its government.
    -- Robert A. Heinlein.

What would that do to all of the non-resident licenses that they issue???