running of serial number

running of serial number

This is a discussion on running of serial number within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I hope this is the right section for my question. A little background of the scenario is this. I am a small business owner in ...

Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: running of serial number

New Member Array ultimatepatriot's Avatar

running of serial number

I hope this is the right section for my question. A little background of the scenario is this. I am a small business owner in Tennessee. When the housing market tanked my business slowed. When faced with losing my home of 11 years or my then 4 year old start up business my wife and I chose to keep and grow the business and let the house go. We moved dangerously close to a drug/gang infested neighborhood to rent. My father who passed in 2010 was a 30 plus year veteran of our local city pd. I am respectful and law abiding. In the 3 years that I have lived in this area I have been profiled for traffic stops twice. The first time I gave my license and carry permit. The officer made rude comments like "well I guess you are not a felon........since you have a permit". He then drilled me on where I purchased the weapon and whether or not it was stolen. He also ran the serial number to verify this. I immediately spoke to a task force officer who told me that it was an illegal search for that number to be run. Fast forward to 9-1-2012. I am stopped again on a bogus suspicion. I complied with every request but told the officer that I did not want him to run my weapon. I asked for his supervisor to be called. They told me that they had the right to run it. I disagree and would like any help to prove/disprove this. Sorry about the long thread. Al