Constructive Criticism Please...Letter to my Representatives

This is a discussion on Constructive Criticism Please...Letter to my Representatives within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi All, I would love to get some constructive criticism on the letter I am working on to send to my representatives regarding gun control. ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Darrow75
  • 1 Post By OldVet
  • 1 Post By noway2
  • 1 Post By 1911_Kimber

Thread: Constructive Criticism Please...Letter to my Representatives

Question Constructive Criticism Please...Letter to my Representatives

Hi All,

I would love to get some constructive criticism on the letter I am working on to send to my representatives regarding gun control. I am ashamed to say that I have never written a senator or congressman before so I would love some input before I finalize this letter and send copies to my representatives. I tried to keep it short and not cover too many points as I thought it would garner more attention but I still think the letter is a bit wordy. It's been a long time since I've written anything other than a business email or forum post so I am feeling a little unsure of myself. Anyway, here is the 1st draft. I really look forward to your thoughts and input. Thanks in advance.

Dear Senator/Congressman [Last Name]

My name is [My Name] and I am a resident of Denver, Colorado. I am writing this letter to express my concerns regarding the call for new gun control measures that are being proposed for the next legislative session. Due to the horrific mass killings that have occurred this past year in Aurora, CO; Oak Creek, WI; and most recently in Newtown, CT; discussions of a new assault weapons ban and other restrictions have been renewed.