Is Obama pulling doctors into gun control?

This is a discussion on Is Obama pulling doctors into gun control? within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; As a physician, I am insulted that Obama would think that doctors will be forced to function as pawns in his gun control agenda. In ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: Is Obama pulling doctors into gun control?

As a physician, I am insulted that Obama would think that doctors will be forced to function as pawns in his gun control agenda. In my many years as a medical professional, I have never asked a patient about their gun ownership, primarily as it is none of my business.
    I would encourage all that are asked by a medical professional about their gun ownership to feel comfortable in replying, "Whether or not I own guns is immaterial to my medical care, and quite frankly, is none of your business.".
    I will speak not only for myself but many other close physician colleagues in saying that we do not and will not support a medical inquisition as to gun ownership.
    "Better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6"

Flight Surgeon, USAF
    Law Enforcement Tactical Surgeon

NRA Patron Member

Thank you. That would be my answer as well. Not sure how polite I'd be, but I'd try.
    JIm

Distinguished Member Array Exacto's Avatar
    I like my doctor, he has taken very good care of me for many years. I can't believe he would ask, but if he does I'll just say I don't own any guns, do you?
    Let your plans be dark and impenetrable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunder bolt...... Sun Tzu.

The supreme art of war is to defeat the enemy without fighting........ Sun Tzu.

Considering that most physicians make a fair paycheck (payback for the hell of med school and residency), and remembering who Der Furher has targeted to tax the hardest, I don't reckon too many docs are in a hurry to help him out.