Letter to the Editor

Letter to the Editor

This is a discussion on Letter to the Editor within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; In a recent thread another member challenged us all to do our part. He said he has been writing letters to his local papers and ...

Thread: Letter to the Editor

Sponsor

Letter to the Editor

In a recent thread another member challenged us all to do our part. He said he has been writing letters to his local papers and suggested we do the same.

I've never written a "Letter to the Editor" before and would like some feed back on one that I drafted up. Is it too long to be published. Does it slam the MSM to the point that it won't likely be published.

Don't hold back any and all suggestions are appreciated. You know, critique me!
    Here goes:

I am a tax paying citizen, business owner, combat veteran and law abiding gun owner. I am sick of seeing the media portray guns as evil killing machines. Guns are nothing more than tools. Tools for many uses. Some of which are target shooting, hunting and the most important, self defense/home defense.

I have owned many guns over the years, including an AR15. Not one of them ever harmed anyone. Not one of them had any volition of it's own. They are inanimate objects subject to my use. They do not control themselves. They do not control me.

In a recent report by Mother Jones it was stated that there has not been a single instance of a gun being used by a citizen to stop a mass killing. This is a case of letting the statistics lie for you. By their(Mother Jones) definition, a mass killing involves four or more deaths. And by that definition, their statement is correct. What they do not want you to hear is that in many reported instances possible mass killings have been thwarted by individuals legally carrying a fire arm.

Here are a few such cases: