Very refreshing

Very refreshing

This is a discussion on Very refreshing within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Just got this answer from one of our Michigan legislators. Nice for a change. I appreciate you taking the time to contact me to voice ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Very refreshing

Very refreshing

Just got this answer from one of our Michigan legislators. Nice for a change.

I appreciate you taking the time to contact me to voice your support for the Second Amendment.

I swore an oath to defend the Constitution. This is a sacred trust. The Constitution includes all amendments and the Second Amendment is no exception.

Furthermore, I would like you to know that as an English teacher, I understand the meaning of a subordinate clause, and I do not buy into the argument that the language concerning the necessity of a militia has any bearing on the fact that the 2nd Amendment clearly confers the right to keep and bear arms, without infringement, upon the people, not the government, and I consider criminalizing guns that millions of Americans already own, guns capable of defending one against multiple attackers, to be infringement in the first degree.

Merriam-Webster defines infringement as “an encroachment or trespass on a right or privilege,” and encroachment as “[the entering] by gradual steps or by stealth into the possessions or rights of another.” That definition suits present-day attempts to limit gun rights perfectly.

As a schoolteacher, I was shaken by the events that took place in Connecticut. But depriving people of the right to defend themselves as they see fit is surely no solution.

I, for one, will honor my oath to defend the Constitution, and I will hold firm against any attempt to restrict your right to protect yourself and your family.