Gun bans discriminatory?

This is a discussion on Gun bans discriminatory? within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; As I was grocery shopping today I had a thought. For those of us in states where "no gun" signs hold no legal weight, is ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Gun bans discriminatory?

Gun bans discriminatory?

As I was grocery shopping today I had a thought. For those of us in states where "no gun" signs hold no legal weight, is it discriminatory if the store asks you to leave? Even in states where those signs are "legal" I can see a basis for a discriminatory lawsuit. If they were to ask you to leave because of age, sex, race or religion you would have a big lawsuit. So why is it any different if you are asked to leave if you are legally carrying a firearm?

I am no lawyer but I see a strong basis for a lawsuit. Maybe an actual civil lawyer could chime in. What do you think? Am I way off? Or am I thinking too rationally for politicians?
    NONAME762 likes this.

2. Remove Ads

I'm not a lawyer, but I wouldn't think so. I don't see gun owners as a protected class. The "discrimination" wouldn't be based on race, see, religion, or age.

Gun owners are not a protected class.
    1MoreGoodGuy likes this.
    I have a very strict gun control policy: if there's a gun around, I want to be in control of it.
    Clint Eastwood

Even if gun-owners were a protected class, they could still prohibit you from bringing a gun into their place of business, they just couldn't ban you.

Senior Member Array Warrior1256's Avatar
    Here in Kentucky "Guns Prohibited" have no force of law behind them. If I really wanted to carry in this business I would just ignore the sign. However, I simply refuse to patronize such businesses and give them my money.

Same as "no shirt, no shoes, no service" I think. Or "no backpacks."
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member