Ex Post Facto - Can the government take away your weapons

This is a discussion on Ex Post Facto - Can the government take away your weapons within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Let me begin with a disclaimer. I am by no means an expert on law or the Constitution. The following is based off my interpretation ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: Ex Post Facto - Can the government take away your weapons

Let me begin with a disclaimer. I am by no means an expert on law or the Constitution. The following is based off my interpretation of the ex post facto (retroactive) law. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I remember from my criminal law class that the Constitution clearly states it is unconstitutional to penalize someone for a crime if it was committed prior to the legislation being put into effect. This is the ex post facto law. So for example, let's say there are no laws prohibiting you from stealing and you steal several items. The next day a law is passed making it illegal to steal. According to the ex post facto rule, you can't be charged for stealing in the past, even if you admit to it.

Today I got to thinking. If you apply this to gun control, let's say a law is passed making it illegal to own an AR, handgun, etc. If your weapons were purchased legally, before the new law was created, you should be in the clear correct? If you can't be charged for doing something that was once perfectly legal, the government can't ask you to turn them in.

I realize my way of looking at this could be a little distorted, and perhaps I'm missing something. I was just wondering if the government can (while respecting the Constitution) try to remove weapons from law abiding citizens. Just something to consider.
    Romans 12:21