PA gun control legislation in the works

This is a discussion on PA gun control legislation in the works within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; http://www.phillyburbs.com/pb-dyn/ne...7-1053218.html I already sent an email to my two representatives (one is a newly elected house member, Karen Beyer, the other is good ole' senator ...

http://www.phillyburbs.com/pb-dyn/ne...7-1053218.html

I already sent an email to my two representatives (one is a newly elected house member, Karen Beyer, the other is good ole' senator Pat Browne; he came to my elementary school when I was in second grade to get to know the next generation. he's awesome ). Here's a copy:

Dear ------,

My name is Geoffrey ------. I'm a resident of the city of Allentown, residing at ----------. I'm writing this letter due to my concern about potential legislation in the form of what I've seen referred to as the "2007 Crime Package," referenced here (http://www.phillyburbs.com/pb-dyn/ne...-1053218.html).

While I understand and respect the ideal of reducing gun crime, many aspects of this legislation only seek to limit the freedoms of law-abiding gun owners like myself. As the article summarizes:

1. Limit handgun purchases to one per month
    2. Ban the sale of military-style assault weapons
    3. Give police and prosecutors new tools for investigating crimes
    4. Increase bail and sentencing for violent crimes and repeat offenders
    5. Allow communities to enact their own gun laws
    6. Require gun owners to file police reports when their guns are lost or stolen