Filing an Amici Curiae Brief Supporting Heller

This is a discussion on Filing an Amici Curiae Brief Supporting Heller within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Like everybody on the form, I am more than mildly interested in District of Columbia vs Heller. I am interested in filing an amici curiae ...

Thread: Filing an Amici Curiae Brief Supporting Heller

Filing an Amici Curiae Brief Supporting Heller

Like everybody on the form, I am more than mildly interested in District of Columbia vs Heller. I am interested in filing an amici curiae brief supporting Heller.

I am not a lawyer, so I would be filing pro se. Having been involved in several civil cases, doing some rather extensive research in legal documents, and writing as a kind of para legal a number of cases where I was the technical expert on the issues of the case, I think I can write legal enough to make my points clear.

I am completing some project work in an area of the county (Bloomburgville) where my personal situation is analogous to Hellerís in the District of Columbia, and I want to provide to the Court that experience to expand their view of the issues.

In reviewing www.supremecourtus.gov, I can not find

1. the format for
    2. the filing date for
    3. the method or methods of delivery

to do this.

Are there any lawyers or other legal professionals out there that can answer my questions?
    George H. Foster
    Orlando, Florida

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I would check with organizations that you know are going to file briefs: NRA, GOA, etc. They probably know as much as anyone about how to do it.
    George

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. Albert Einstein

your three mysteries will be found in the "Rules of the Court"

they take the "rules" very seriously...

IANAL but I did attend a Law School once....