New Mexico far to restrictive on the 2A.
1. Expensive piece of paper.
2. Must re-qual every two years to keep the piece of paper.
3. Cannot carry and take "over the counter" meds.
4. Instructor must be approved by the State, instead of say NRA Instructor or going next door to AZ to Gunsite.
5. Only 198 Instructors for the entire State. Need more Instructors
6. Must 21 years old instead of 18 years old.
7. Permit only good for carrying one handgun. No Back Hand Gun, No Fighting Knife.
8. Single Concealed Handgun Permit instead of a Concealed Weapon Permit.
$100 for first permit for 4 years then $75 renewal for more 4 years
There is a requalification requirement at two years.
No. Pursuant to NMSA 1978 Section 30-7-4, no person shall carry a concealed handgun while impaired by the use of alcohol, controlled substances, or over-the-counter or prescribed medications.
Instructors continue to be approved by the Department of Public Safety. A list of the approved names and contact information is updated as new instructors are added and is available at the link below. These and only these instructors have been approved to teach the statutorily required courses. Applicants are cautioned to take courses offered only by the listed approved instructors. Any other type of course will not be accepted for purposes of concealed handgun licensing.
You must be at least 21 years old
. A licensee will only be allowed to carry one concealed handgun on their person at a time.
only 198 State approved Instructors for the entire State of New Mexico
State of New Mexico Laws for Concealed Carry