Critical Florida Action Alert-TODAY!!

Critical Florida Action Alert-TODAY!!

This is a discussion on Critical Florida Action Alert-TODAY!! within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Critical Florida Action Alert: If You Want To Keep Your Right To Self-Defense You Must Act Now Monday, March 24, 2008 ACT NOW – House ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Critical Florida Action Alert-TODAY!!

  1. #1
    VIP Member Array miklcolt45's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    @ Wits' End
    Posts
    2,813

    Critical Florida Action Alert-TODAY!!

    Critical Florida Action Alert: If You Want To Keep Your Right To Self-Defense You Must Act Now

    Monday, March 24, 2008

    ACT NOW – House Bill 503 “Guns-Locked-In-Cars Bill” Headed to House Floor, and your State Representative needs to hear from you toady, urging him or her to support HB 503!

    Date: March 24, 2008
    TO: USF & NRA Member and Friends
    FROM: Marion P. Hammer
    USF Executive Director
    NRA Past President

    House Bill 503 by Rep. Greg Evers (R-Milton) will be heard on the HOUSE FLOOR Wednesday, March 26th.

    For three years we have fought corporate giants and big business bullies. They want ban firearms and prohibit you from parking in public access parking lots if you have a firearm locked in your car or truck for protection while traveling to and from shopping, work, or wherever your daily routine takes you.

    This is a WAR for your safety and your firearms freedom. Your right to have a firearm in your car or truck when you are parked in a parking lot is on the line. Whether or not your firearm rights live or die comes down to House Floor action on Wednesday.

    As Representative Stan Mayfield, recently said:

    "Everyone keeps calling it the guns-to-work bill. The fact of the matter is it's the guns-locked-up-in-your-car bill."

    The bill protects your right to have a firearm locked in your vehicle for self-defense and other lawful purposes when it is parked in a business parking lot.

    It is time to start sending emails to ALL members of the Florida House to let them know how important this bill is to law-abiding gun owners who carry firearms in their vehicles for protection and other lawful purposes.

    Please immediately send an email to ALL members of the House and URGE THEM TO SUPPORT HB-503. Then CALL YOUR Representative's Tallahassee office and urge them to support HB-503 (Below the list of email addresses is a link to Find Your Representative where you can get the phone number.)

    Below is a list of the email addresses of those you need to contact

    IN THE SUBJECT LINE OF YOUR EMAIL PUT:

    PLEASE SUPPORT HB-503 the "Guns-locked-up-in-your-car bill"

    Florida House of Representatives
    Sandy.Adams@myfloridahouse.gov
    Thad.Altman@myfloridahouse.gov
    Kevin.Ambler@myfloridahouse.gov
    Tom.Anderson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Frank.Attkisson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Gary.Aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov
    Loranne.Ausley@myfloridahouse.gov
    Aaron.Bean@myfloridahouse.gov
    Dorothy.Bendross-mindingall@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ellyn.Bogdanoff@myfloridahouse.gov
    Marty.Bowen@myfloridahouse.gov
    Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov
    Mary.Brandenburg@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ronald.Brise@myfloridahouse.gov
    Donald.Brown@myfloridahouse.gov
    Susan.Bucher@myfloridahouse.gov
    Edward.Bullard@myfloridahouse.gov
    Dean.Cannon@myfloridahouse.gov
    Jennifer.Carroll@myfloridahouse.gov
    Charles.Chestnut@myfloridahouse.gov
    Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov
    Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov
    Faye.Culp@myfloridahouse.gov
    Joyce.Cusack@myfloridahouse.gov
    Don.Davis@myfloridahouse.gov
    Carl.Domino@myfloridahouse.gov
    Chris.Dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov
    Greg.Evers@myfloridahouse.gov
    Terry.Fields@myfloridahouse.gov
    Keith.Fitzgerald@myfloridahouse.gov
    Anitere.Flores@myfloridahouse.gov
    Clay.Ford@myfloridahouse.gov
    Jim.Frishe@myfloridahouse.gov
    Bill.Galvano@myfloridahouse.gov
    Luis.Garcia@myfloridahouse.gov
    Rene.Garcia@myfloridahouse.gov
    Andy.Gardiner@myfloridahouse.gov
    Dan.Gelber@myfloridahouse.gov
    Joe.Gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov
    Audrey.Gibson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Hugh.Gibson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov
    Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov
    Michael.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov
    Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov
    Gayle.Harrell@myfloridahouse.gov
    Adam.Hasner@myfloridahouse.gov
    Alan.Hays@myfloridahouse.gov
    Bill.Heller@myfloridahouse.gov
    Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ed.Homan@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov
    Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Dorothy.Hukill@myfloridahouse.gov
    Evan.Jenne@myfloridahouse.gov
    Stan.Jordan@myfloridahouse.gov
    Kurt.Kelly@myfloridahouse.gov
    Will.Kendrick@myfloridahouse.gov
    Martin.Kiar@myfloridahouse.gov
    Dick.Kravitz@myfloridahouse.gov
    Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov
    Rick.Kriseman@myfloridahouse.gov
    John.Legg@myfloridahouse.gov
    Marcelo.Llorente@myfloridahouse.gov
    Janet.Long@myfloridahouse.gov
    Carlos.Lopez-cantera@myfloridahouse.gov
    Richard.Machek@myfloridahouse.gov
    Stan.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov
    Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov
    Seth.Mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov
    Matt.Meadows@myfloridahouse.gov
    Dave.Murzin@myfloridahouse.gov
    Mitch.Needelman@myfloridahouse.gov
    Peter.Nehr@myfloridahouse.gov
    Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov
    Pat.Patterson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Frank.Peterman@myfloridahouse.gov
    Joe.Pickens@myfloridahouse.gov
    JC.Planas@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ari.Porth@myfloridahouse.gov
    Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov
    Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov
    Scott.Randolph@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ron.Reagan@myfloridahouse.gov
    Betty.Reed@myfloridahouse.gov
    Curtis.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Garrett.Richter@myfloridahouse.gov
    David.Rivera@myfloridahouse.gov
    Julio.Robaina@myfloridahouse.gov
    Yolly.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Dennis.Ross@myfloridahouse.gov
    Marco.Rubio@myfloridahouse.gov
    Maria.Sachs@myfloridahouse.gov
    Franklin.Sands@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ray.Sansom@myfloridahouse.gov
    Tony.Sasso@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ron.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov
    Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov
    Ron.Schultz@myfloridahouse.gov
    Elaine.Schwartz@myfloridahouse.gov
    Michael.Scionti@myfloridahouse.gov
    Jack.Seiler@myfloridahouse.gov
    David.Simmons@myfloridahouse.gov
    Kelly.Skidmore@myfloridahouse.gov
    William.Snyder@myfloridahouse.gov
    Darren.Soto@myfloridahouse.gov
    Priscilla.Taylor@myfloridahouse.gov
    Geraldine.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Nick.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov
    Perry.Thurston@myfloridahouse.gov
    Trey.Traviesa@myfloridahouse.gov
    Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov
    Shelley.Vana@myfloridahouse.gov
    Jim.Waldman@myfloridahouse.gov
    Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov
    Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov
    Juan.Zapata@myfloridahouse.gov

    To find your Representative’s telephone number, please click here.

    For more information on this critical issue, please click here.

    BACKGROUND:

    The bill will stop business entities from searching private vehicles and violating the constitutional rights of customers and employees.

    Your Second Amendment rights are at the very heart of this issue.

    In addition to prohibiting searches of private vehicles in parking lots, the bill will also prevent businesses from asking customers or employees to disclose what personal private property is stored in a private vehicle and prevents action against customers and employees who refuse to divulge that private information. Further, it prohibits action against a customer or employee based on information provided by a third party.

    Some Florida businesses are trying to ban firearms in cars in parking lot used by customers and employees. They are discriminating against people who exercise their constitutional rights – they are violating the constitutional rights of gun owners and Florida law.

    Corporate giants have been trampling constitutional rights. Some are even attempting to coerce and intimidate gun owners into giving up constitutional rights as a condition of employment.

    The bill protects your right have a firearm in your locked vehicle for lawful purposes and to park your vehicle in parking lots when shopping, working, or transacting business.
    Last edited by miklcolt45; March 26th, 2008 at 10:28 AM. Reason: Immediate action needed
    He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. - Jim Elliott

    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein


  2. #2
    VIP Member Array edr9x23super's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2,108
    +1 on this bill; hopefully Texas will have something like this when the legislature convenes next year;

    Good luck Floridians....
    "Guard with jealous attention the public liberty. Suspect everyone who approaches that jewel. Unfortunately, nothing will preserve it but downright force. Whenever you give up that force, you are inevitably ruined". - Patrick Henry

  3. #3
    Senior Moderator
    Array MattInFla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    4,857
    emails sent, calls made.

    Matt
    Battle Plan (n) - a list of things that aren't going to happen if you are attacked.
    Blame it on Sixto - now that is a viable plan.

  4. #4
    VIP Member Array David in FL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,342
    Quote Originally Posted by MattLarson View Post
    emails sent, calls made.

    Matt
    Ditto.....

  5. #5
    Member Array bbernard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fort Myers, FL
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
    Ditto.....
    +1 two weeks ago....

  6. #6
    VIP Member Array miklcolt45's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    @ Wits' End
    Posts
    2,813

    It Passed!!

    The news is reporting that the House passed the bill 72-42.

    Now, to wait and see what the Senate does with a similar bill, not limited to CWL holders only.
    He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. - Jim Elliott

    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    Senior Member Array Cthulhu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brevard County, FL
    Posts
    1,154
    Quote Originally Posted by miklcolt45 View Post
    The news is reporting that the House passed the bill 72-42.

    Now, to wait and see what the Senate does with a similar bill, not limited to CWL holders only.


    -JT

  8. #8
    Senior Member Array MilitaryPower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    976
    Quote Originally Posted by Cthulhu View Post


    -JT
    I think that the Senate already passed it.
    Gun control can be blamed in part for allowing 9/11 to happen.
    "Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum" (Latin)- "If you want peace, prepare for war".

  9. #9
    BAC
    BAC is offline
    VIP Member Array BAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    2,292
    NRA says it's the amended version that says: "The substitute bill is identical to the original bill except that it requires an EMPLOYEE, who keeps a firearm in a private vehicle in the business parking lot while at work, to have a license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm (CCW). The requirement of a CCW license DOES NOT apply to customers or invitees who park in the business parking lot. It only applies to employees."

    Here's the link: NRA-ILA :: Legislation

    The Senate version that passed is not the same as the House version, so the Senate still has to pass judgment on this new version. I suspect it'll carry through just as, maybe more, successfully than the original Senate version.


    -B

  10. #10
    Senior Member Array Cthulhu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brevard County, FL
    Posts
    1,154
    This is interesting:

    151 (e) No public or private employer may terminate the
    152 employment of or otherwise discriminate against an employee, or
    153 expel a customer or invitee for exercising his or her
    154 constitutional right to keep and bear arms or for exercising the
    155 right of self-defense as long as a firearm is never exhibited on
    156 company property for any reason other than lawful defensive
    157 purposes.
    This section doesn't explicitly state 'parking lot', like other sections, but 'company property' in general.

    Can this be taken to mean that an employer can't fire an employee for exercising their 2nd amendment rights (with CCW), and a business can't kick you out for same?

    LINK

    -JT

  11. #11
    BAC
    BAC is offline
    VIP Member Array BAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    2,292
    Cthulhu, that's what's been specified as the beauty of this legislation. While not illegal to concealed carry in businesses and such, if you work there you can still be reprimanded if it's against company policy and if you don't work there you can be asked to leave. This sounds like it protects your right to carry whether they like it or not.

    Hm, that makes me question what the NRA's little article said. I need to see what the undergarment bunching is about over there.


    -B

  12. #12
    Senior Member Array Cthulhu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brevard County, FL
    Posts
    1,154
    Okay, I went into geek mode and copy-n-pasted voting info into Excel.

    Of the 73 Republicans that voted:

    67 Yea
    6 Nay

    Of the 41 Democrats who voted:

    5 Yea
    36 Nay

    There were six non-votes, one belonging to an apparently unfilled seat. Of the remaining five, four are Rep. and one is Dem.

    MOSTLY along party lines...but not entirely.

    -JT

  13. #13
    Senior Member Array Cthulhu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brevard County, FL
    Posts
    1,154
    Quote Originally Posted by BAC View Post
    Cthulhu, that's what's been specified as the beauty of this legislation. While not illegal to concealed carry in businesses and such, if you work there you can still be reprimanded if it's against company policy and if you don't work there you can be asked to leave. This sounds like it protects your right to carry whether they like it or not.

    Hm, that makes me question what the NRA's little article said. I need to see what the undergarment bunching is about over there.


    -B
    Well, I thought that was always the case...it was never illegal to carry in such businesses, but they could fire you for going against policy. That section e seems to imply they can't do that now.

    The NRA article you mentioned was dated 3/13, I think, so it seems to be dated info.

    -JT

  14. #14
    Distinguished Member Array Tally XD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    1,831
    That IS very interesting!! The wording does definitely say COMPANY PROPERTY . . . . it doesnt explicitly distinguish "parking lot" or "vehicle" only. I want to know more about this. Could this be a mistake or is this actually part of the revision??

  15. #15
    Senior Member Array MilitaryPower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    976
    What does it mean in Section 2 "This act shall take effect July 1, 2008, and shall apply to causes of action accruing on or after that date."? It can't mean that it is now law.
    Gun control can be blamed in part for allowing 9/11 to happen.
    "Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum" (Latin)- "If you want peace, prepare for war".

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. ***** GrassRoots Action Alert - H. 3405 For SC*****
    By foots402 in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 28th, 2011, 08:41 AM
  2. Virginians need too take actions.....VCDL ACTION ALERT
    By concealed in forum The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 31st, 2009, 08:01 PM
  3. NRA Action Alert! Florida- Hit this Poll!
    By Tally XD in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: July 7th, 2008, 09:40 PM
  4. Florida Action Alert!
    By ExSoldier in forum The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 10th, 2006, 02:15 PM
  5. Critical Action Needed To Push Pro-gun Agenda In Idaho
    By PatrioticRick in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 10th, 2006, 10:34 PM