Two Pro-Gun Advancements Making Progress in Arizona!

Two Pro-Gun Advancements Making Progress in Arizona!

This is a discussion on Two Pro-Gun Advancements Making Progress in Arizona! within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hey, We are moving forward. Today, the Committee of the Whole passed Senate Bill 1243 with no amendments and Senate Bill 1113 with only the ...

Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Two Pro-Gun Advancements Making Progress in Arizona!

  1. #1
    Senior Member Array mi2az's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    651

    Two Pro-Gun Advancements Making Progress in Arizona!

    Hey, We are moving forward.

    Today, the Committee of the Whole passed Senate Bill 1243 with no amendments and Senate Bill 1113 with only the NRA-backed amendment. Two hostile amendments were defeated thanks to the help from our strong supporters in the Senate. Both bills now head to the Senate floor for a third reading on Monday, June 15.



    SB1243, sponsored by State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18), would clarify the statutory definition of defensive display of a firearm. This clarification of defensive display of a firearm is a valuable addition to your right to self-defense.

    SB1113, introduced by State Senator Jack Harper (R-4), would give concealed carry permit holders the right to take concealed handguns into restaurants that serve alcohol, provided they are not consuming.

    Please take the time to thank the Senators who supported these bills. Also, we would like to show our appreciation to our strong allies and strong NRA supporters, State Senators Jack W. Harper (R-4), Jonathan Paton (R-30), and Steve Pierce (R-1). Their effort to help our cause was essential and the passing of these bills could not have happened with out them. Contact information can be found below.



    State Senator Paula Aboud (D-28)

    (602)-926-5262

    paboud@azleg.gov



    State Senator Amanda Aguirre (D-24)

    (602)-926-4139

    aaguirre@azleg.gov



    State Senator Carolyn S. Allen (R-8)

    (602)-926-4480

    callen@azleg.gov



    State Senator Sylvia Allen (R-5)

    (602)-926-5219

    sallen@azleg.gov



    State Senator Manuel V. “Manny” Alvarez (D-25)

    (602)-926-5895

    malvarez@azleg.gov



    State Senator Robert “Bob” Burns (D-9) – President

    (602)-926-5993

    rburns@azleg.gov



    State Senator Meg Burton Cahill (D-17)

    (602)-926-4124

    mburtoncahill@azleg.gov



    State Senator Ken Cheuvront (D-15)

    (602)-926-5325

    kcheuvront@azleg.gov



    State Senator Jorge Luis Garcia (D-27) – Minority Leader

    (602)-926-4171

    jgarcia@azleg.gov

    State Senator Pamela Gorman (R-6) – Majority Whip

    (602)-926-5284

    pgorman@azleg.gov



    State Senator Ron Gould (R-3)

    (602)-926-4138

    rgould@azleg.gov



    State Senator Chuck Gray (R-19) – Majority Leader

    (602)-926-5288

    cgray@azleg.gov



    State Senator Linda Gray (R-10)

    (602)-926-3376

    lgray@azleg.gov



    State Senator Albert Hale (D-2)

    (602)-926-4323

    ahale@azleg.gov



    State Senator Jack W. Harper (R-4)

    (602)-926-4178

    jharper@azleg.gov



    State Senator John Huppenthal (R-20)

    (602)-926-5261

    jhuppenthal@azleg.gov



    State Senator Leah Landrum Taylor (D-16)

    (602)-926-3830

    Llandrumtaylor@azleg.gov



    State Senator Barbara Leff (R-11)

    (602)-926-4486

    bleff@azleg.gov



    State Senator Linda Lopez (D-29) – Minority Whip

    (602)-926-4089

    llopez@azleg.gov



    State Senator Debbie McCune Davis (D-14)

    (602)-926-4485

    dmccunedavis@azleg.gov



    State Senator Al Melvin (R-26)

    (602)-926-4326

    amelvin@azleg.gov



    State Senator Richard Miranda (D-13)

    (602)-926-5911

    rmiranda@azleg.gov



    State Senator John Nelson (R-12)

    (602)-926-5872

    jnelson@azleg.gov



    State Senator Jonathan Paton (R-30)

    (602)-926-3235

    jpaton@azleg.gov



    State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18)

    (602)-926-5760

    rpearce@azleg.gov



    State Senator Steve Pierce (R-1)

    (602)-926-5584

    spierce@azleg.gov



    State Senator Rebecca Rios (D-23) – Assistant Minority Leader

    (602)-926-5685

    rrios@azleg.gov



    State Senator Jay Tibshraeny (R-21)

    (602)-926-4481

    jtibshraeny@azleg.gov



    State Senator Thayer Verschoor (R-22) – President Pro Tempore

    (602)-926-4136

    tverschoor@azleg.gov

    State Senator Jim Waring (R-7)
    (602)-926-4916
    jwaring@azleg.gov
    "When the people fear the government you have tyranny...when the government fears the people you have liberty."

    --Thomas Jefferson --


  2. #2
    Distinguished Member Array lacrosse50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    1,283
    What does the clarification of defensive display of a firearm amount to? Was the language to ambiguous, or to restrictive, or both?

    Sounds promising, good luck!
    Last edited by lacrosse50; June 14th, 2009 at 03:08 PM. Reason: Hit enter to early, updated post.
    The ultimate result of shielding men from the effects of folly is to fill the world with fools.
    -Herbert Spencer

    NRA Life Member

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. NRA Alert- Arizona Arizona Senator Attempting to Water Down Important Pro-Gun Bill!
    By mi2az in forum The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 24th, 2009, 08:49 PM
  2. Arizona Bill HB2474 (heard from Steve Montenegro Member, Arizona House of Representa
    By mi2az in forum The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 12th, 2009, 06:05 PM
  3. Making Progress in Arkansas
    By HotGuns in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2007, 12:44 PM
  4. Posted mall... Making progress?
    By Shadowsbane in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2007, 01:01 PM
  5. Arizona - SB1271 Arizona gun safety program
    By Bumper in forum The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 15th, 2005, 11:44 AM