(Utah Valley University student newspaper) Concealed weapons pose a threat to campus

(Utah Valley University student newspaper) Concealed weapons pose a threat to campus

This is a discussion on (Utah Valley University student newspaper) Concealed weapons pose a threat to campus within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; How naive can they be? I'm a former student at UVU. I once wrote a letter to the editor complaining about negative imagery of a ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: (Utah Valley University student newspaper) Concealed weapons pose a threat to campus

Thumbs down (Utah Valley University student newspaper) Concealed weapons pose a threat to campus

How naive can they be? I'm a former student at UVU. I once wrote a letter to the editor complaining about negative imagery of a handgun for sensational graphic in "Police Blotter" section.

Editorial: Concealed weapons pose a threat to campus

Posted below so we don't give this site a lot of unwarranted hits. No reason to make them think it is a popular opinion.

Editorial: Concealed weapons pose a threat to campus
    By Editorial Board on 05 October 2009
    Tags: Concealed Weapons, Guns

The College Republicans are hosting fundraisers Oct. 7-8 in which club members and guests will pay to be guided through the process of gaining a concealed weapons permit. Trainers certified by the NRA will take those who sign up through the entire process, save only licking the stamp and mailing off the papers.

The UVU Review editorial board wishes to question this fundraiser and address what we consider to be some serious issues with its taking place on this campus.
    First, any attempt to put more weapons into people’s hands can only make the risk of violent crime worse. Our school is no safer for having 30 more concealed weapons on it at any given time. Precisely the opposite is true.