My trip yesterday to the local VA hospital

This is a discussion on My trip yesterday to the local VA hospital within the The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am a pastor, which means hospital trips to visit people who are sick and injured. It's actually a cool part of the job because ...

Distinguished Member Array MinistrMalic's Avatar

I am a pastor, which means hospital trips to visit people who are sick and injured. It's actually a cool part of the job because people are always appreciative of a visit from their pastor.

Anyhoo...this one was to the Carl T. Hayden Medical Center in Phoenix. It's not in the nicest part of town (7th Street and Indian School for those in the area). As I pulled in to the parking lot I noticed a BIG sign with what appeared to be a no firearms posting. So I stopped and read it.

It's a federal facility, so under 18 USC 930a bringing a firearm onto the premises is a federal misdemeanor. I stowed the firearm in the console and headed inside to do my visit. Right inside the door was ANOTHER sign and an explicit mention that a CCW does not provide the right to carry.

My question is about their not having a facility to check firearms. I see in ARS 13-3102.M.1 that the law concerning provision of a firearms check is specifically applicable to the state or any political subdivision of the state. So the federal government is not required to provide that. However, this is a sketchy neighborhood and I felt really uncomfortable leaving a gun in the car. That's doubly true because the place has big "no firearms" posting at the gate!

So do you fine folks think it is even worth my time to draft a letter, or am I wasting paper? Will the nameless, faceless federal government even care what I think? I'm a disabled vet, so I am in there on occasion.

Thanks for the advice!
    "...whoever has no sword is to sell his coat and buy one." (Luke 22:36)