Appalled by what we saw in Southern California

This is a discussion on Appalled by what we saw in Southern California within the Bushcraft - Primitive Skills - Survival Skills - Camping forums, part of the Related Topics category; Yesterday, we attended a celebration of life for the wife of one of my employers that I worked for and became friends with when I ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree112Likes

Thread: Appalled by what we saw in Southern California

Yesterday, we attended a celebration of life for the wife of one of my employers that I worked for and became friends with when I worked in the diving industry. The event took place last night at a very nice venue in San Diego county. We had driven down Thursday afternoon, and spent Friday morning walking the perimeter of the La Jolla cove, one of the most beautiful spots in Southern California. It was the first time my wife and I had been back to the San Diego area since we moved to southern Utah five years ago.

To say we were completely shocked by the incredible number of new developments, hotels, freeway overpasses and traffic would be an incredible understatement. It really made me sad to think about what will happen when (not if) some cataclysmic event takes place in the future, be it an earthquake, pandemic, EOTWAWKI, etc. Tens of thousands, if not millions of people are going to die there, because there will simply be not enough food, water or power, in the event of a catastrophe. Ironically enough I am reading a very good book on that exact subject, Black Autumn: A Survival Post Apocalyptic Thriller.