Non resident CCW in states without reciprocity

This is a discussion on Non resident CCW in states without reciprocity within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have had my Ohio resident CCW for a few years. I’m a truck driver, and looking at requesting non resident CCW in states I ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Non resident CCW in states without reciprocity

I have had my Ohio resident CCW for a few years. I’m a truck driver, and looking at requesting non resident CCW in states I will be in frequently. Illinois won’t issue, but I can carry in the vehicle. Maryland said I don’t have a good reason. Has anyone been successful in obtaining a non-resident CCW in the non-gun-friendly states?

I have an IL non-resident, but I live in VA, one of the four states they will issue to.

A friend of mine got an MD. He is a handgun instructor and he started offering classes in MD and they accepted that as a valid reason. But I am not sure to what extent he actually gave classes in MD. I don't think very much. He may have also known the right person in LE in MD to approach about it.

That's the problem with may issue. It becomes a purely subjective judgement on the part of local officials.
    ep1953 likes this.
    Attack Squadron 65 "Tigers", USS Eisenhower '80 - '83, peackeeping w/Iran, Libya, Lebanon and E. Europe

Ex Member
    I have PA resident and AZ non resident permits. I can carry with them in all but 11 states. They either do not recognize non resident permits or my PA permit or not any permits but their own. I drive into or through MD several times a year, and I have t lock up my pistol to do that. I could drive from my house in PA to FL and the only place I cannot conceal the pistol is MD. Any state my two permits two permits are. not accepted will no issue the state CCW permit to me

4. Remove Advertisements
    DefensiveCarry.com
    Advertisements