Best gun for a dirty job

Best gun for a dirty job

This is a discussion on Best gun for a dirty job within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I work as an Ag mechanic. My job is dirty and I get sweaty. Been carrying mi Kimber micro 9 for about a year. But.... ...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree98Likes

Thread: Best gun for a dirty job

Best gun for a dirty job

I work as an Ag mechanic. My job is dirty and I get sweaty. Been carrying mi Kimber micro 9 for about a year.
    But....
    I about 6 months ago somehow a piece of debris got lodged down by the hammer. I didn’t realize it and pulled it out to dispatch a varmint. Pulled the pistol out of the holster and click. Now the debris was of the same variety that I was in that day so I know I didn’t carry it that way long. And I usually wipe it off daily.
    Then today during my daily inspection I went to remove the magazine and the mag release button was stuck. Dirt or some sort of build up was all around it.

So needless to say I don’t think the Micro 9 is cut out for my EDC.

So what say you guys revolver or striker fired pistol for a dirty job.
    bmcgilvray and ETXhiker like this.

hate to say this but Glock, to be inline with your Micro look at the G43 and G 43X
    If it needs to be done, do it.
    Diligentia, Vis, Celeritas

The gun doesn't matter here. I'm thinking you need something like this:

Name:  1116530-2.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  86.2 KB

That one is for a Luger, but any number of custom holster makers can make you one easily for your gun.

BTW welcome to DC from the Texas Gulf Coast.
    "The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has limits."

4. Remove Advertisements
    DefensiveCarry.com
    Advertisements

Distinguished Member Array CavemanBob's Avatar
    Yep, hard to beat a Glock in a cruddy enviro, they tend to function even when very dirty.
    OldChap likes this.