Otpics ready sub-compact choices?

This is a discussion on Otpics ready sub-compact choices? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have some Sig RX compacts. Great guns, but just too big at times. So I'd been waiting for the 365XL optics ready pistol, but ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: Otpics ready sub-compact choices?

I have some Sig RX compacts. Great guns, but just too big at times. So I'd been waiting for the 365XL optics ready pistol, but it's out of the running because you lose the rear sight when you put an optic on it. I've been carrying red dots for a couple of years and know they are great, but not 100% reliable. If I pull the gun and red dot is not on for whatever reason, I want good irons sights there to work with.

Seems the Hellcat OPS may fit the bill for me. Sights stay in place, and the front one looks like a very nice one. But before I get serious about chasing one down, just thought I'd start a post asking if there are any other candidates in this size/capacity of small non-single stack handguns. Or if there is some concern about the Hellcat OPS.

Personally, I just think the Hellcat is too new. I would wait until it gets some time and reviews on it. The first runs of the P365 has some sporadic issues. You just never know.

If I really wanted and optic on a smaller gun, Galloway Precision will mill slides for four different popular models of optics on a pretty long list of mini 9mm's, for $125-$135. the examples they show on their site still have the iron sights, some even tritium sights. I will bet they could probably do it on any gun you would choose and there are other companies who could do the same.

Personally, for a small gun, I just want a night sight that has good daytime visibility. Something that keeps the gun small and always works. But that's just me.
    Wavygravy likes this.