CA Mag Restrictions & Choice of Daily Carry

This is a discussion on CA Mag Restrictions & Choice of Daily Carry within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I recently moved from Virginia to California, and have a question on selecting a new daily carry firearm. [Yes, it's difficult to attain a ccw, ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree29Likes

Thread: CA Mag Restrictions & Choice of Daily Carry

I recently moved from Virginia to California, and have a question on selecting a new daily carry firearm. [Yes, it's difficult to attain a ccw, but not impossible. :) ]

In VA, my daily carry was a G19 for all the reasons you've heard a million times: reliability, size, capacity, etc, etc...

However, CA's new magazine restriction has compelled me to rethink what I carry. I'm NOT a lawyer, so while I'm sure there are exceptions to the rules re: 10 round magazines, I don't wish to press my luck if in discussion with an LEO. So, with capacity no longer a major factor when selecting a daily driver, what do you suggest?

Elements of consideration:
    - Concealability. I'm 6'5, 250, and the G19 conceals just fine. However, since capacity is not really an issue in this exercise, perhaps something smaller is equally as good?
    - Environment. I live in a very safe city. Crime stats are near the lowest in the state. I know, things are good until they're not...
    - Clothing. I'm in dress casual most days, suits some days, and jeans others. This is also a factor in firearm size.
    - Familiarity. I'm very familiar with the Glock platform. Like many other veterans, I'm also comfortable with the M9 Beretta (not being considered right now). That said, I'm not familiar with the 1911 platform.
    - I will train with this new firearm to become proficient, but I don't expect to enter 3-gun competitions or be at the range 2x's a week putting thousands of rounds through it.

Here are my thoughts to date: