Need opinion on buying Glock 31 Gen4?

This is a discussion on Need opinion on buying Glock 31 Gen4? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Shooters I am considering buying the Glock 31Gen4 in .357sig for both Home Denfense & range shooting! I have experience in shooting various caliber handguns-45acp,9mm, ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Need opinion on buying Glock 31 Gen4?

Shooters I am considering buying the Glock 31Gen4 in .357sig for both Home Denfense & range shooting! I have experience in shooting various caliber handguns-45acp,9mm, 40 cal. ,10mm etc.
    I need your opinions on (1) recoil
    (2) reliability

I don't care about the cost of 357sig ammo! Thank-you for your thoughts!

Semper Fi!

It should work great for your stated purposes, IMO.

I have very little experience with the .357 Sig round, but others here have a great deal of wisdom to share.
    hogdaddy and OldChap like this.

I don't exactly have a Glock 31. I have a Gen 4 Glock 22 (a police trade in) which is converted to a Glock 31 or Glock 17 in 30 seconds with a simple barrel change. In fact my "G31" is on my hip as I write this.

Recoil is not bad - even with very hot loads, like these:

https://www.underwoodammo.com/collec...18785729282105

I run Federal 125 gr HST's for the most part. If you want a real hot rod, try some of these:

https://www.underwoodammo.com/collec...18785699397689

Reliability? It's a Glock. Others have reliability problems. Glocks just keep running.

BTW The 31 will convert to a 9mm, or 40 S&W just like the 22 will convert to 9mm or 357 Sig. Two barrels and you're good to go: One gun, three calibers.
    Pete63, Bad Bob, hogdaddy and 2 others like this.
    "The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has limits."