Defensive Carry banner

Concealed Carry Holster-1911

2K views 25 replies 25 participants last post by  bustoff 
#1 ·
Which one do you carry for your 1911? I bought a Galco Combat Master the other day because it has a good review here- https://holsteraddict.com/concealed-carry-holster/, it's a OWB holster is made from leather and i prefer a leather holster, what's the best one out there?

#3 ·
I’ve never been consistent with the 1911 up until the last year or so. I always loved it, but never could commit.

The best holster is the best holster for you, your dress, and your needs.

But one thing I can say, and I believe this to be true across the spectrum, is the best holster starts with the best belt. So, my best combination, is the thickest Bigfoot Gun Belt and a Milt Sparks SS for everyday carry; that is every day for up to 8-16 hours a day concealed.

#5 ·
I am a 1911 newbie but, so far I have three I like depending on dress. I started with and still like the Galco summer comfort although that one has been mostly replaced with the DeSantis Mad Max as it distributes the weight a little nicer.
My favorite by far is an OWB pancake that holds it high and tight if my cover garment is adequate. I use a Don Hume open top as it has 1.75" loops and my belt is a 1.75" BetterbeltUSA roughrider which has a lot of support. There are some great ones out there and the sky is the limit on cost and quality.
I can wear that combo in total comfort under an open western cut vest all day long.
As has been said a good belt is key to carrying a heavier gun. I can carry a 46 ounce revolver on that same belt just as comfortably all day long even while carrying a pack and a rifle and hiking in rough country.

#6 ·
Ummm, there is no "best" of anything. I have >80-holsters and like/use about half, while selling the rest. I change my holster w/ my socks, so I am never bored and none of my leather feels neglected.

Reactions: luke213 and OD*
#8 ·