Shot my first rifle match this weekend, lots of fun.

This is a discussion on Shot my first rifle match this weekend, lots of fun. within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Ive been shooting for around 7-8 years. Most of that is at indoor ranges, usually punching paper within 25 yards, sometimes going to the 100yd ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree63Likes

Thread: Shot my first rifle match this weekend, lots of fun.

Ive been shooting for around 7-8 years. Most of that is at indoor ranges, usually punching paper within 25 yards, sometimes going to the 100yd lanes. That gets kinda boring, but unfortunately I dont know anybody with land that I can shoot on, and in my area there is no public land that can be shot on (legally), so Im kinda stuck. Even at the outdoor ranges, they dont allow you to just show up an draw from a holster, run and gun, and usually dont allow steel targets except for one specific weeknight, and you have to bring your own. That all being said, I dont have much experience shooting on the move or drawing and firing, etc except for 2 courses that Ive taken (shotgun and pistol). My friend is the same, but hes not as experienced with firearms as I am. For instance, I had to zero his rifle because he hasnt researched ballistics, or the different distances to zero and each of their pros and cons. He has never shot a match either, and just wanted to go out and experience it. Glad I had someone to go with. I went with the goal to just not get DQed for being unsafe. If I came in dead last and finished the match and got decent hits, that would be a win in my books for my first time.