Defensive Carry banner

Becoming An Instructor

422 views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  SIGP250 
#1 ·
I didn't know where to put this thread - I hope this forum is OK.

I am looking for some advice, thoughts and comments.

I have been shooting since 2013 with a Glock 17 Gen 4, Glock 30 Gen 4 and a SW M&P Compact 22 and I had my CCW license since 2013. I truly enjoy introducing my friends to shooting at my NSSF 5 star range. I always give the person about an hour of training at my or their house before we go the the range consisting of gun safety, gun operation, loading, sight alignment/sight picture, etc. I think the preliminary training away from the range is better than trying to explain and show them all the information at the range as it's really hard to have a good conversation with all of the shooting noise in the background. All of my friends that I have done this with have all been extremely complimentary of my knowledge, teaching ability and methods.

After saying all of this, I would really like to become an NRA instructor but I feel there are several obstacles in my way. I don't mind paying the cost of the NRA instructor training, etc. to become NRA certified. After doing some reading and research I have discovered that to protect myself and and or my students I should:

- have liability insurance
- be incorporated
- have a location other than my house in which to hold the non-range training sessions
- find a range where they allow "outside" instructors to bring students to shoot

In my view, the above requirements make becoming an instructor a lot more difficult and expensive.

I think the above requirements still apply whether I would be a "NRA Certified" or non NRA instructor. I could try to get a job and be employed by a range or LGS and teach under their umbrella instead of trying to do this all on my own.