Skeeter on the .22

Skeeter on the .22

This is a discussion on Skeeter on the .22 within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I was cleaning up the 'bookmarks folder' in my laptop when I fell into reading some of Skeeter Skelton's thoughts on the 22 caliber handgun. ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: Skeeter on the .22

Skeeter on the .22

I was cleaning up the 'bookmarks folder' in my laptop when I fell into reading some of Skeeter Skelton's thoughts on the 22 caliber handgun.

For those who have never heard of Skeeter, he was a US Marine and LEO who became a well-respected gun writer in the 60's, 70', and 80's. He was a fan of revolvers and an advocate of the .44 Special.

Skeeter on the .22-skeeter-skelton.jpg

I usually associate him with big bore handguns, so I found some of his thoughts on the .22LR to be thought provoking:

Q. I am a pilot in the Air Force, and will be going to Viet Nam soon. What sort of handgun do you recommend for survival use in the event I am shot down? H.E.J.

A. Since I have never been in Viet Nam, my advice must be qualified. If I can infer from the word survival that your handgun will be used primarily for killing food and defensively only if you are ferreted from some jungle hiding place, then I would lean toward a first quality 22 semi-automatic pistol with a 4" barrel. I would carry this gun along with 3 or 4 extra magazines and several boxes of high velocity long rifle ammunition with both solid and hollowpointed bullets. The hollowpoints are better killers on medium-sized animals and man, and the solids leave more meat when birds and very small game are shot.