Defensive Carry banner

Societal breakdown in California. Is it coming?

15K views 239 replies 76 participants last post by  Conundrum 
#1 · (Edited)
This past weekend, one of my brother-in-laws called me to discuss handguns and what pistol he should purchase. When I asked him why he wanted to purchase a pistol, he stated that he thought there would be a societal breakdown in California within the year. This is a person who I do not think is a good candidate for owning a pistol (my wife feels the same way).

My wife and I discussed this situation at length. When I said that I thought this seemed somewhat unlikely, she responded that she did not. With the continued shutdown of the electrical grid in California whenever there is a high wind/low humidity event, her thinking is that there may be severe societal disruption should the power company be unable to restore power in a timely manner. I'm not an expert in electrical service, but certainly if that happened, the consequences could be serious. As she pointed out, if there is no power, and no way for a trucker to get fuel, I could see where truckers might be reluctant to make deliveries in California for fear of getting stuck. This could lead to a snowball effect of bad consequences.

Every day I hear about another bad event taking place in California I thank my stars we no longer live there.

#4 ·
Its really sad to watch. I have family in CA and my parents lived there for years when my father worked as an engineer for Lockheed-Martin in the 50s. Its not a place my parents would recognize. I can't imagine they would tolerate the current political climate that's engulfed the state.

I've enjoyed visiting San Diego and southern CA for brief periods.

#23 ·
The big cities are going to implode before I die. I'm 40 now, and I can see bad things coming. Faith was forced out in some areas, and the destruction that caused cannot be missed.