Furnace that runs on propane, whoís got one

This is a discussion on Furnace that runs on propane, whoís got one within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Iím preparing to move into a new house soon. Been doing some renovations on it now and this is my first time living in a ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree32Likes

Thread: Furnace that runs on propane, whoís got one

Iím preparing to move into a new house soon. Been doing some renovations on it now and this is my first time living in a home that the furnace runs on propane instead of electric. Gas company came out the other day got everything put in my name, did a leak check, filled the 500 gallon tank up from 20% to 80% ($1.99 gallon ouch) and put a new regulator on the house.

While Iíve been working Iíve kept the thermostat on a constant 62 degrees, Iím not living in the home yet. Itís been low to mid 40ís around here during the day and upper 20ís to upper 30ís at night. Iíve been watching the gauge on the tank and itís using roughly 1% per day which if I figured correctly is I think about 5 gallons of propane per day.

All thatís running in the house currently on propane is the furnace at 62 degrees. For those of you that have a furnace that runs on propane heat is 5 gallons a day normal or does that seem excessive for a home running a constant 62 degrees? Itís a 2 story home, but not what Iíd call a large home with the first floor mostly in ground with attached garage. Iíd say itís in the 1,500 to 1,800 square foot range. Thermostat is on the second level. I know square footage and this and that can all effect it, Iím just curious in general if this is about what I should expect, 5 gallons a day?