Where to start

Where to start

This is a discussion on Where to start within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; As stated before, I am fairly new to reloading. I am getting ready to load 2 new calibers so my question is do most people ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Where to start

Where to start

As stated before, I am fairly new to reloading. I am getting ready to load 2 new calibers so my question is do most people who reload start at the minimum powder charge or somewhere in between?

BTW I am starting on loads for .40 and .45 ACP. Starting with plinking rounds and working up to rounds for defense of furry critters and snakes while hiking in the woods this summer.

VIP Member
    The 40 has a much smaller range of tolerance than the 45 due to pressure, Iíd begin with the 45. Load a small batch of 45ís to perhaps 50-60% or so of the top end and take them to the range for a test drive. Gain some confidence and go from there......
    Techer40 likes this.
    Savage Heartland

What if the Hokey Pokey IS what it's all about?

4. Remove Advertisements
    DefensiveCarry.com
    Advertisements

Youíre best off starting at the bottom, especially being new. Donít go over max without having a good understanding of pressure signs. If you havenít done so already, I would buy a manual, I like the Lyman, but there are plenty of others, and read the whole thing to get a good understanding of the process. Donít trust random load data posted on any forum, no matter how much you trust the person posting it. On thing I will say as Iíve recently started loading .45, is that the two different bullets and powders Iíve used, none of the lower charges cycled the gun. I actually started a thread yesterday about this. Up until I reached max, it would not cycle with that powder. Iím not saying to start at the upper end of the spectrum, but donít load a bunch of rounds that may not work. Pulling bullets sucks.