Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Administrator
143,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Time to post this link again. :yup:

CLICK HERE TO AVOID A POSSIBLE DANGEROUS MISHAP.

:gah:

Click the above link to learn how to do a complete Safety & Function Check Of Your 1911 Colt Pattern Pistol.

Follow The SIMPLE Instructions EXACTLY.

Then you'll know and be certain that your pistol is 100% Safe to carry.

·
Registered
2,753 Posts
Well done, QK. It's good for all of us to review procedures for our weapons periodically. I'd hope that others who have similar links for their weapons-of-choice would post them, as well.

·
VIP Member (Retired Staff)
25,483 Posts
If we eventually fix up a reference section this is one of many things we could have available.

I am sure for those new to the platform this could be regarded as vital info.

·
Registered
40 Posts
It's not a sticky yet, so it's worth a bump to the top.

Mike

·
Registered
98 Posts
Question

Great post! I am new to 1911s and I recently purchased a Para SSP. I performed all of the test and everything was fine until the functioning test. I can't rack the slide with the trigger pressed! Is this a malfunction with the gun?

·
Registered
48 Posts
I'm a new member, but I have been shooting 1911's of various types since the 1970's. This is the first time I have ever seen all this information in one place.

Thanks.

Mark

·
Registered
354 Posts
was good to commit to memory, even though I carry the XD45 my 1911 is a very close backup.

·
Premium Member
7,703 Posts
Great reminder, we all get lax from time to time. Thanks! :hand10:

·
Premium Member
2,355 Posts
Won't hurt. This is just great preflight stuff for all us 1911 pilots out there.

Reactions: molleur

·
Registered
4,254 Posts
Would you recommend this function check before every firing session? Or perhaps, after so many rounds? Would it hurt the gun to perform these tests TOO much? Just curious!