Defensive Carry banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
DF members, I just bought a CMMG Anvil in .458 SOCOM for pig hunting & I am looking for info / direction on ammo & optics.
Ammo- what grain is best suited for pigs?
- what distance should I sight the gun in for?
Optics- I am leaning towards a 1x6 w/ illuminated reticle but not sure if I need to worry about recoil, & what make & model of scopes does anyone use w/ this caliber.
Any & all help about this & hunting pigs would be greatly appreciated. I have zero experience in hunting bacon, I have hunted deer & bear. The pig hunt will be next October in South Carolina from stands & blinds over bait on several different farms w/ guides. I will also be carrying my G40 to try some 10mm medicine on the pigs too.
Thank for your time.
Glock10mm

·
Registered
1,327 Posts
.458 is more than enough gun for hogs. It is comparable for a .45/70 in ballistics and so you really can't go wrong with anything between 300 and 400 grains. You can go lightweight, but the BC declines quite a bit, though you get a flatter trajectory, initially. I don't think you need to worry about that. With a 350 gr. bullet, should should be solid out to 150 yards with very little or no POA change. That should take care 98% of your hunting.

Checked some posts of a buddy of mine that hunts with .458 Socom on another forum, he had posted...

Recommend you try the 300 gr. Barnes TTSX while you are experimenting.

My personal preference is the 405 grain Remington Soft Point, VERY hard hitting and surprisingly accurate bullet.

The Beartootch 525 gr. hardcast 'piledriver' (even subsonic) will shoot through them from any angle (nose to tail if need be). I've never recovered a piledriver from a hog. Of course...it has limited application in terms of trajectory.