Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I noticed that the 870's the Sheriffs use do not have the safety latch on the trigger housing.

I don't see a use for this device and want to remove mine. Is this feasible? Do I need to buy a replacement housing to accomplish this or can the bar be removed easily?

thanks.

PS. not sure what the device is really called, hope you got the picture.

·
Premium Member
25,483 Posts
Jim - I am assuming you mean the small lever - front and left of trigger guard that needs depressed in order to operate the pump - and shuck a round?

Hmmm - never given that too much thought - tho on balance and being used to its use, I'm not sure I'd want it gone. In that case it'd be somewhat easy to operate the pump even when not wanted.

Darned tho if I can think of a quick fix to remove it - tho, being an engineer I'd sure find an answer if really pushed!

·
Administrator
143,595 Posts
Remington

I think they have now discontinued/stopped making firearms with the J lock.

·
Super Moderator
19,005 Posts
you could pin the lever in the depressed position. I would not however. Lots of folks who have no business using a firearm would not know how to operate this function.

·
Registered
13 Posts
All the Remington 870 Police Magnums I have used have that lever, don't know which model you found without one. It might be interesting to know.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
P95,

Yes, that is the one. On the shotguns at work there is not evena slot for this lever. The reason I want it gone is that if I shoot the last shell and rack it like normal, I have to hit this lever (shift grip) to get it open to put a single back in. Without it, I just pull the forearm back again.

Mine has a "J-hook" trigger safety, which I would never use, but I haven't heard of them causing trouble. Has anyone else? I just bought this guna few months ago, so they were making them then.