Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
14,024 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me be clear that I am not at all endorsing this idea. I am very skeptical about it. But I had never heard it before and I wondered if anyone else had. I know some people here will rail against it, but since I am not endorsing it, it is no skin off my nose.

I have been shooting handguns for 50 years. I used to compete in the Navy, qual'ed expert and I have been a pretty good shot most of my life. But I have definitely gotten rusty. I have been taking private shooting lessons from an old guy at my local range. He is a really good instructor and he has definitely improved my shooting in a short time. I would say my groups are a third the size they were and I have only a third of the "fliers" I was having. So for training, the guy knows his stuff.

But twice has talked about a self-defense legal concept (not a principal or statute) that prosecutors take a dim view of self-defense claims on shots on attackers at over 21 feet. That a shot at say, 30 feet, might be seen as the bad guy was not that much of a threat. I am used to instructors who are good at teaching shooting but spout legal advice that is complete BS. I do think that if you are engaging someone at 50 yards, a question might be raised, but if there is a good reason for it, it would be quickly put to rest. I think the instructor's idea is preposterous, but I like to keep an open mind.

What I am curious about is not whether he is right or wrong, per se, but has anyone every heard of this and does anyone know if it has any validity or not?

·
Registered
8,786 Posts
Never heard of such a thing...and let that prosecutor stand 21 feet from a man with a loaded revolver, and again at 30 feet...and then tell us about threat. Any prosecutor who takes that view, hasn't thought about it enough. Now let's consider 200 yards...is a man with a revolver a threat at 200 yards?