Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I typically only buy a gun when I have a specific role to fill. Open carry, concealed backup, range plinker, hunting, cowboy shooting, etc.

One role I need to fill is the "I'm gonna go join up and fight the Rebs, Ma!"

Lemme be specific...this rifle will ONLY be used if I have to join a militia. Period. It will also be the first thing I grab if someone throws a Molotov cocktail through my window.

I was a Marine for 8 years. I got to use the M16A4, M4, and M27 IAR. I am not an expert by any means, but I've had some experience...that being said, I could use some advice.

I posted another thread elsewhere and got lots of helpful tips, but didn't get enough to narrow my options down to a single rifle, so I'll try to be more specific with what I'm asking...

I am looking for a gun in the $2k to $3k price range. I'm looking for something semiautomatic, and has:
1) Accuracy/precision: can I hit a 4 Inch target at 200 yards?
2) Reliability: it will still function even if it's wet, or muddy, or has sand in it, just like a Glock is advertised to.
3) Durability: will it break if I have to use it to block a blow or use it as a club because they're too close to shoot?

I am already aware that the AR15 is affordable, is the most customizable, and has a large availability of aftermarket parts...tbh, for the purpose of this discussion, those things I am not really concerned about right now...I just want to know about PURE functionality, and nothing else. If I buy an AR15 over something else, it'll still be one that's above the $2k threshold...two I have in mind are the LWRC and the HK MR556.

Rifles still in my consideration: (in no specific order)
(all have common calibers that I can easily get .556, 7.62x39, .308, etc)

1) M1A Tanker or Scout
2) Tavor SAR 7.62x39 or .556
3) Tavor X95 in 7.62x39 or .556
4) Bushmaster ACR in .556 or 300 blackout
5) Scar 16 and Scar 17
6) HK MR556