Defensive Carry banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have decided I would like to buy a good 22 pistol or revolver. For plinking and fun with my sons. (We have several 22 rifles.)
I am sort of a revolver guy, and my carry gun is a chiefs special 38 revolver. But it does not have to be a Smith, although I would prefer a double action gun, not a SA Ruger or the like. I would consider an semi auto.
I will pay a reasonable price.
I appreciate all advice. :urla9ub:
God Bless

·
Registered
5,134 Posts
the sp 101 is made in .22 , smith offers k and j frames , i belive taurus makes a da .22 ( or they did anyway )

·
Registered
302 Posts
I got a S&W 18-3 Combat Masterpiece, wonderful gun, but I think you would have to get a model 17 now as the 18 is discontinued.
I don't have any semi's in .22, so no comment. ( A buckmark is on my wishlist!)

·
Super Moderator
19,004 Posts
The Taurus .22 is a nice DA wheelie. My bro has 1, very nice to shoot with the hi vis sights.

·
Registered
2,292 Posts
Bud White said:
Smith for a wheelie and ruger mark ii preferable to a mk iii for auto
What he said but I would also consider a old army SA style for a wheel gun.

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
Taurus .22 wheelie, Browning semi. If you can find an old High Standard, wheelie or semi, they are hard to beat (but going up in price!).

·
Premium Member
25,483 Posts
The Ruger MkII is good tho I personally prefer the 22/45 because of controls and grip angle etc.

The Taurus .22 wheelie would probably be a good value buy but if you ever find a M17 or K-22 at a decent price, get it. That IMO for a DA .22 revo is about as nice as it gets.

·
Registered
6,011 Posts