Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
4,250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many bowhunters do we have here on DC? I have been bowhunting whitetail deer since the late 80's. Currently shooting a Mathews Heli-M at 70#'s with a 29" DL. I usually don't break out the bow until after the July 4th weekend but I got to have something to do now. Think I will break out the bow early this year and get a head start!

·
Registered
8,644 Posts
I've been bowhunting for the last six years, but have never managed to connect despite being in bow range several times. I have been more successful with rifle and shotgun.

·
Registered
430 Posts
Tried bowhunting a bit in the late 80's early 90's with a Jennings compound. Blacktails in Hawaii. No luck.

Moved to traditional archery about 15 yrs ago. Backyard target shooting with vintage recurves.

I've had recurves from Howatt, Tice/Watts, Bear, Herter's and a few others. My current recurve is a 70's vintage Ben Pearson Scot 7000.

A bit much at 50 lbs but once my arm strength comes back it should be a nice hunter.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
I have not been out bow hunting for a while , taken plenty of deer this bow and I used it to shoot the local 3-D course .

Attachments

·
Registered
2,611 Posts
Hoyt Turbo Hawk here since 2010...Before i made the Jump to Hoyt i did the PSE thing
Bowtech and Pearson until i switched.

I still love my Hoyt and i am glad when i look around see Bow prices today....Wow.
$800+ for a nice bare bow is nuts.

Red and white fletching?....I wonder why those colors?:smile:

hoyt bow hunting 19 005.jpg

·
Registered
4,250 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I've been bowhunting for the last six years, but have never managed to connect despite being in bow range several times. I have been more successful with rifle and shotgun.