Defensive Carry banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
814 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I was sitting around with a LEO friend last evening and the talk turned to reloading. He was relaying a story about a self defense shooting he investigated a few years ago. He said something about the deceased family's attorney making an issue of the fact that the shooter used handloads. It was a major point in the Wrongful Death complaint. (Deceased guy was a definite BG and died in the comission of a robbery- Mistook the shooter on a darkened downtownn street as a sheeple)

Wondering if carrying of handloads would lead to liability for me if I am involved in a situation where I would be forced to defend myself.

FYI. I handload plinkers for the range, but my defense carry is 230Gr HydraShoks. Not planning on changing my posture, but his story got me thinking and I thought I would bring that thought to the board.

·
Registered
17,352 Posts
Im not a lawyer dont play one on tv but this has coem up a lot and no one has ever offered proof one way or another that yes it will get you in trouble to no its cool

i would like to get a straight answer to most forums have had the arugment been on the highroad 3-4 times in the past year and still no documentable proof one way or the other

·
Registered
814 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry if this is a repost. I used the "Search" and couldn't find anything on point. I don't want to start a "Moral High Ground" argument, so if the Mods think this is gonna get heated, feel free to lock or delete it.

·
Registered
17,352 Posts
No im not saying its a repost just youll get a lot of varying opinions and not for sure answer it is a good post though

·
Registered
814 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Would normally ask a lawyer friend of mine, but I always feel like I need a shower afterward. :biggrin: J/K

·
Premium Member
25,483 Posts