Defensive Carry banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 163 Posts

·
Registered
11,153 Posts
They are heavy, ugly and go bang. For the money its not to bad.

·
Administrator
21,209 Posts
It's crap, plain and simple.

The metal is garbage, the size/weight/capacity ratios are garbage, the build quality is garbage, and if the metal wasn't so crappy, they'd probably make a better hammer than a gun.

They are probably THE most common "straw purchase" gun and are found in the hands of many gang bangers.

Save an extra $50-$150 and get a used Taurus or Bersa.

·
Registered
7,421 Posts
:haha: What JD said +1 :hand10:

·
Banned
447 Posts
I have some experience with hi-point. We sell a lot of them, and from the reviews I have read, they always go bang (which is important). I have shot my fair share of hi-points from handguns to the carbines. After selling them to customers, if needed we assist them at the range. The first time I shot a hi-point 9, all 5 rounds was in the X at 7yards. There wasn't much recoil either.

They are not the best looking, but for the price you can't beat it.

I think the carbines are more fun to shoot, specially with a 30rd mag:)

·
Registered
253 Posts
Hi Point

Much has been said about these guns, good and bad. All I can tell you is that I had the 9mm pistol for a year or so, fired maybe 500 times, gave it to my son who has not fired it much in the last couple of years, and to this day it has not had a single problem. Not a misfire, not a jam, no FTE, FTF, FTRB, nothing. Lifetime warranty, good people and great price. Would I rely on this gun for daily carry? No. Too big, too heavy. Would I put one in my tackle box or at my bedside? absolutely. I have a Hi Point 9mm carbine with red dot scope in my closet as a SHTF backup along with my 1911's.
I agree with JD on the Taurus or even a Rock Island Armory 1911 for a couple hundred more.

·
Registered
779 Posts