Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1,464 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this. I bought a couple of MFT mags. The bag says 20/30 round capacity. They hold 20. How can they be switched to 30 if they can be?

·
Registered
1,464 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
The solid part is molded to the baseplate. It is not separate. I removed the spring to be sure.

Edit: will it work if the spring just sits on the floor plate?

I went to MFT's site, but they don't have any instructions that I can find.

·
Registered
6,336 Posts
Load to 28, not 30.
You will fail to seat a magazine on a closed bolt, eventually, loading 30. To have a mag not drop out of the gun under duress is worth the cost of 2.

·
Registered
6,336 Posts

·
Registered
7,077 Posts
I don’t know what you paid for those, but might I recommend P-Mags from now on?

·
Registered
873 Posts
My first experience with the AR-type rifles was in Vietnam. Standard magazine was a 20-round unit, but we learned quickly to never load it to full capacity. My typical load was (from the top) one tracer, 4 ball, one tracer, 4 ball, one tracer, 4 ball, then three tracers (total 18 rounds). The final three tracer rounds served to alert me to the need to change magazines.

I know they have been using 30-round mags for a long time now. They probably have some pretty good ones, and I'm sure a lot of the after-market mags are total crap. I can't imagine trying to keep track of my ammo during a firefight with 30-round mags, and I know that I couldn't possibly get into a good low prone firing position with one of those long magazines in my rifle. I seem to remember that it was always best to stay down as low as possible when the bullets were flying around. Those things hurt when they hit you, and I always carried spare underwear for those embarrassing moments.

Old man's meandering thoughts. Nothing to see here so just move along.

·
Registered
294 Posts