Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
25,483 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys - someone else had found this and used it in a post - struck me as being of some interest to all perhaps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

From - Firing Line forum (http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-47579.htm):

"Dr45ACP

"Sanow doesn't understand why people die after being shot.

"I am a surgeon, have operated on many GSW victims.

"No handgun, including 357, 9mm, etc, is a 'high energy' or 'high velocity' round. Energy and velocity are more important when we are talking about rifle calibers. With respect to high powered rifles, a shock wave of energy does spread out at impact and devitalizes a large area of tissue by disrupting small blood vessels, etc. The effects of this, however, may not be immediately obvious to the eye, though it will help to incapacitate the victim.

"Handguns are low energy, low velocity weapons. They do not have this effect. The primary determinants of their lethality is shot placement and the size of the defect they create.

"The cross sectional area of a 45 cal bullet is about 50% larger than for a 38 cal bullet, and therefore 50% more blood will be lost over a certain time. Or a 50% larger hole will be made in a criminals brain, heart, lung, etc.

"My experience has been that people with large holes shot through them are more likely to die than those who have small holes. Big holes are harder to fix. More tissue is destroyed.

"I have never seen anyone with an injury that I would attribute to 'energy' from a certain handgun round. All I see are holes that have to be repaired.

"Velocity and energy for a handgun round is important because it increases the chances a hollowpoint will expand on impact.

"Finally, as far a 9mm bullets tumbling: they certainly do. But so do 22, 25, 38, 40, and 45!"

·
Registered
742 Posts
Believe me, Sanow knows. Anyone who has ever listened to Sanow lecture knows.