Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new to guns. I live in a state where universal background checks are not required (for private sale). I am perfectly legal to own a firearm, but I would rather go through a private seller because I know the govt probably uses the background check system as a registry for firearms and I just don't like the idea of the feds knowing what gun I own and when/where I purchased it. I always thought that private sales included things like certain sellers at gun shows and certain sellers on sites like armslist.com and similar sites. However, I just saw a youtube video where a guy goes to several gun shows in Indiana and tries to purchase a gun without a background check and is turned away. I've also heard that most private sellers, although not required to perform a background check, will still choose to perform one, in order to cover their own asses in case you turn out to be a felon. Is there any reasonable, legal way to purchase a gun without having to give my information to the federal government, or should I just say to heck with it and do the background check?

·
Super Moderator
18,241 Posts
You couldn't do a background check if you wanted to as there is no provision for private citizens to do so.

A private sale is a private sale. Period. NO background check is required...unless you live in one of the few states that do in which case you must pay an FFL to do it for you.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You couldn't do a background check if you wanted to as there is no provision for private citizens to do so.

A private sale is a private sale. Period. NO background check is required...unless you live in one of the few states that do in which case you must pay an FFL to do it for you.