Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hallo guys.

I'm from Latvia and I got a permit to purchase a handgun for self defense purposes - after buying a handgun and registering it at police station I should get my CCW permit (it is possible that they only give me a permit for use only as a home defense weapon, although it is not that common).

I've been thinking about what handgun to buy as my first handgun. It will be used as a self defense weapon - will try to carry it 99% of the time. As the process of getting CCW here in Latvia is quite expensive and as I'm not sure I want to invest a lot of money into my first handgun (as I have no experience with guns), I was thinking of going for some kind of budget handgun.

Here in Latvia the laws are strict:

a) One needs to carry a handgun without a round in the chamber with enabled external safety (if gun has one) and with hammer at rest. This means that I'll need to rack the slide of the pistol to set it up for shooting if needed;
b) One needs to carry not more than two full magazines of ammo, that is, on in the handgun and another in the holster (also applies to revolvers and speedloaders);
c) One is allowed to use only FMJ rounds (no JPH - hallow points);
d) One carries only calibers not larger that 9mm in the diameter (basically options are limited to .380 ACP, 9x18 Makarov, 9x19 Parabellum, .38 Special and .357 Magnum);
e) One should not fire a handgun if one cannot guarantee the safety of those who are not intended to be shot.

As for carry environment: