Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Either one mag of one and another of the other? Or mixed in the same mag?

Have a rifle cambered for both.

Sorry for the dumb question.

·
Registered
1,762 Posts
Yes

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
4,628 Posts
Sure you can not sure why but it will feed just fine.

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
Chambered for both? It must be 5.56x45 NATO or .223 Wylde. If you have a standard .223 chamber do not fire 5.56x45 from it. This would result in excessive and dangerous chamber pressure.

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
So long as your rifle is chambered 5.56, yes. I wouldnt expect pinpoint accuracy though. I'm no ballistics expert, but I would imagine all else being equal, the .223 and 5.56 may have slightly different points of impact at distance. I could be wrong though. I'm sure smarter folks will chime in.... :eureka:

·
Registered
45,327 Posts
Case dimensions are the same, the difference is in the longer throat of the 5.56 chamber. 5.56 typically use longer (& heavier) projectiles loaded to higher pressures. I've used reloaded 5.56 cases exclusively in my .223. If your rifle is stamped .223/5.56, it's a 5.56.

Reactions: Taurahe and Snub44

·
Premium Member
5,611 Posts
Case dimensions are the same, the difference is in the longer throat of the 5.56 chamber. 5.56 typically use longer (& heavier) projectiles loaded to higher pressures. I've used reloaded 5.56 cases exclusively in my .223. If your rifle is stamped .223/5.56, it's a 5.56.
THIS^^^^^^^^ Learn it, love it, memorise it. This is very important to any and all new AR 15 owners.

Reactions: AR15VSCoyote

·
Registered
3,778 Posts
Think of it this way: a .223 is a citizen round, 5.56 a military round. A little different as far as ballistics are concerned, but should not be a problem as long as your weapon is spec'd for 5.56.

I guess my question would be : Why would you mix them?

·
Registered
1,747 Posts