Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Made the decision yesterday to take the next step and start carrying my Glock 17 chambered. I've been carrying for several months now. The only time I feel anxious is when I transfer the pistol from my carry holster to my night stand holster. I'm guessing that will ease with time.

Thoughts from those with more experience.

·
Premium Member
5,957 Posts
I was extra super cautious about holstering when I first started carrying striker guns, but it did ease with time. I carry hammer guns almost always now, but still pay close attention to the holster, looking for obstructions, while transferring from one holster to another.

Really, you should never take for granted the holstering process regardless of what type of gun you carry.

·
Registered
2,363 Posts
Ianthin is correct, holstering should be nice and slow. As for taking the next step in carrying with one in the pipe thats great!!! We all have different comfort levels and move at our own speed I also carryed unchambered for about a week when I started no need to rush anything.

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
I carried for a month or so when I started not chambered. Wanted to get used to carrying first. The more I carried chamber the more the worrie went away. It will fade with time, once you realize there really is no difference as long as you keep your finger off the trigger till you need to, and just watch when you holster to make sure nothing gets in the way. Stay safe

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
It is noteworthy how time will change our comfort level regarding an activity. I, too, at first did not carry chambered. But because I have a manual safety, I soon changed that. Now, a few months later, I am starting to carry safety off when away from home.

The trick is to not allow comfort level to become complacency. Complacency gets people hurt or worse.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
66 Posts