Defensive Carry banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for the cleanest burning powder for 9mm loads for my (gas operated) H&K P7.

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
2,406 Posts
I'm looking for the cleanest burning powder for 9mm loads for my (gas operated) H&K P7.

Any suggestions?
One of the ball powders. I have no experience with the P7, but I imagine any of them recommended for the 9mm will do - possible HS-6 and WW231.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
I am amazed at the results I have gotten from Red Dot and 115 gr. FMJ bullets. Very clean burning, low flash, soft shooting and what I really like is that it fills the case to within 1/4" from the case mouth. I'm loading 4.0gr. OAL 1.25". Recipe goes all the way up to 4.7 gr. but I don't think that much will fit in the case; I haven't tried it!

·
Registered
3,076 Posts
I use WSF in my P7.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Alliant E3 bills itself as the cleanest burning powder. In the little I've tried, it is, and has soft recoil too (about like titegroup, but lots cleaner) but I had trouble getting it to meter in my Hornady and had to give up on it.

The Vihtavuori powders (like N320) are all very clean burning too, but expensive and hard to find. VV N320 is my choice in .40 when it can be found (which isn't often lately). It burns a lot cooler than titegroup too, which probably is a plus in a P7 -- I know how hot they get, I have two.

·
Registered
729 Posts
I use Ramshot Zip for all my handgun reloading. Burns clean and meters well and the price is right! This is the powder that Black Hills ammo uses in their reloads.

·
Registered
2,231 Posts
AA2; it is one of the fastest burning, cleanest and easiest measuring powders around, and I use 4.5 grains over a 115 grain bullet in my .38 super for IDPA matches.....

·
Registered
729 Posts