Defensive Carry banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newb, I had one handgun until yesterday and I just purchased a second. I dont know how to clean my gun. I am capable of reading directions relative to the disassembly, and I'm very mechanical. The issue is, I dont know what they mean when they use terms like, "too much", "a little", "some", "liberally", etc.

I have no idea what my gun is supposed to be like in specific areas when it comes to lube and cleaner.

I dont want to sacrifice these with poor habits (or worse when I need them the most to fail). Is there a good resource for how to clean/lube properly?

Also, when I go to the store to buy cleaning supplies, there are only a couple thousand different types of cleaners, brushes, wipes, oil, etc.

help!

thanks

·
Registered
314 Posts
For cleaning, I really like hickok45 video on youtube, "Glock Cleaning Basics." I've provided the link below.

Glock Cleaning Basics - YouTube

Whether you have a Glock or not, I think the basics he mentions transcend gun manufacturer. Unless you have a 1911, which case ignore his advice. BTW, you should prolly mention what kind of gun you have. Per hickok45, I use Ballistol and love it. I clean my Beretta Nano just as he cleans this Glock.

·
Registered
761 Posts
Everyone has favorite techniques. I learned a lot of them on youtube and have tried to duplicate hickock45 methods. He is much more knowing than I. There are also many model specific videos there.

·
Registered
2,212 Posts